Runoff appears set for Revenue Commissioner; Baldwin upsets Massey for Commission post


With 96 percent of the votes counted, it appears Franklin County Republican Primary voters will return to the ballot box on March 31 for a runoff race for Revenue Commissioner.

Barring a major shift in the results, voters will see a runoff between incumbent Revenue Commissioner Veronica Stancil and challenger Stratt Byars. At 9:45 p.m. Tuesday, results received showed Stancil with a razor-thin lead of 2,437 (44.6 percent) over Byars, who had accumulated 2,414 (44.2 percent). Both candidates far outpolled third-pace challenger Charlie Nelson, who held 614 votes (11.2 percent).

In the race for County Commission District 3, political newcomer Joseph Baldwin upset incumbent Rayburn Massey and, without a Democratic challenger, will become the district’s next commissioner at the swearing-in in January.

In District 4, incumbent Commissioner David “Opie” Hester survived a challenge for the Republican nomination by Misty Holcombe by about 500 votes. Hester will now advance to the November General Election.

The same holds true for District 2 incumbent Jason Miller, who easily outpolled his challenger for the Republican nomination.

District 1 Commissioner Chris Wallace has effectively been re-elected as he does not face a Democratic Party challenge in November.

Incomplete and unofficial results at 9:45 p.m., with about 96 percent of votes counted, are as follows:

Franklin County Commission, District 1

Chris Wallace (i) 2,997 (61.6%)

Joe Fike 1,868 (38.4%)

Franklin County Commission, District 2

Jason Miller (i) 3,327 (65.8%)

Terry Prince 1,729 (34.2%)

Franklin County Commission, District 3

Joseph Baldwin 3,473 (67.8%

Rayburn Massey (i) 1,649 (32.2%)

Franklin County Commission, District 4

David “Opie” Hester (i) 2,724 (55.2%)

Misty Holcombe 2,215 (44.8%)

Franklin County Revenue Commissioner

Veronica Stancil (i) 2,437 (44.6%)

Stratt Byars 2,414 (44.2%)

Charlie Nelson 614 (11.2%)